On Paris and Humanity

It’s Friday night and I’ve been reluctantly reading the news about the attacks in Paris.  At this point I don’t know who is responsible or even why the attacks took place.  I’m troubled by the predictable coverage that I have read so far.

Media, both social and traditional, relate the number of deaths as though the mangled ruined lives of hundreds of people are a score to some gruesome sporting event.  From my perspective, one life or a hundred, each is as precious as the last and should not simply be chalked up on the board. At times like this a simple phrase like “A large number of deaths from an attack..” will suffice whether it is ten or fifty doesn’t make a difference.  There will be time enough in the morning to get the accounting balanced.

I don’t understand people looking for a quick response from politicians. They always get upset when the words that our leaders utter is the usual, “We are deeply saddened…We stand by our friends… We offer our condolences..”  Let’s face it in the heat of the moment that is all that can be said. Personally I think the next day is a better time for this but somehow people need to hear this before the attacks are finished.

This is a complex situation that I have a hard time understanding but I do know that the coverage of these events has become predictable and formulaic in nature.

The local emergency teams have reacted in a professional manner and have called upon the resources that they have available in order to secure and contain those who are involved and provide aid to those in need.  They don’t need the extra burden of acknowledging statements from our governments or feeding the grist mill of  social media.

I’m not sure what the solution is to the issues that are flowing from the Middle East and North Africa.  I’m not even sure I understand the problem in it’s entirety.  What I do know is that it’s nearly impossible to use reason with someone who is blinded by a belief.  I also know that a military solution is just as fruitless as it simply intensifies the hatred among people that might otherwise be friends.

France is in a difficult situation, it has been forced into a corner and the only solution that will satisfy the French people is quick retribution.  That same solution will only lead to the disenfranchisement of it’s own Muslim population.  Military action also brings the specter of colonialism into play and even reignites older hatreds dating from the time of the crusades. That being said I would be surprised if military action isn’t happening as I write this.

I hope that all involved can overcome the blindness of their dogmas and put love and compassion ahead of hatred.

Peace and Love everyone

Leave a Reply

